A Time To Not Be Forgotten…

Photo by: Megan Elizabeth Eilers

I don’t want to make my first blog post depressing, but I thought that it would be best to reflect on events/issues that occurred today.

This evening I attended one of the various speeches that are a part of Oregon State University’s Holocaust Memorial Week.  The event I was able to attend was about German Television and the Limits of Holocaust Memory.  This beautifully put together presentation was by Wulf Kansteiner, who has done immense research on the connection between media, past, present, and future and the way we inform people about the terrible events that transpired during WW2.  I found his points about an absence of “perpetrators,” to be absolutely fascinating, and unfortunately true.  German soldiers were unwilling to take responsibility or even show their faces after the war–they held immense fear of being put on trial for crimes they were forced to partake in.  This presentation was not only fascinating due to the historical aspects of the clips we watched, but the fact that Kansteiner stated that television is the old form of media.  Of course, after taking New Media Communications classes, this comment immediately drew me in–and how correct this thought is.

As Pam Cyntrynbaum (and all of the guest speakers) say, New Media is constantly on the cutting edge.  New technology is obsolete by the time you get it home from the store.  The computer I am typing on, a descendant of the ENIAC (Electronic Numberical Integrator and Computer–i.e. the first computer), is already significantly outdated, and I only bought it 2 years ago!  Technology is simply fascinating, the way it evolves, and becomes more and more user-friendly with each new “generation.”

So for anyone who is reading this, I hope you have enjoyed reading my first blog post, and were not too appalled by my lack of transition between these last two paragraphs.  Now, I must head back to the real world (as opposed to the blogging variety) and study for my French test tomorrow with my amazing roommate, Randi Williams, who insisted that she be a part of my blog…so there you go Randi.   :)


Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

