Nothing Comes Close to the Golden Coast…

Well Blogging World, it is official, only 9 more days until I head to California to start work at Tiny Prints again.  Well, lucky for me (and I am being serious) I get to make the 9 hour drive all by myself.  Now, this may seem crazy to any sane person, but let me tell you: I LOVE ROAD TRIPS! Of course, it is a lot of fun to go with other people, but after a stressful quarter of classes and the challenge of choosing a different college for next year, I could use 9 hours to just sit and zone (while watching my speedometer of course).  The only reason that this long drive is bearable, and in my mind, enjoyable, is that thanks to the joys of technology, I can make playlists (instead of mix cds or tapes) on my ipod.  Yes bloggers, I will admit, I am that crazy girl driving down the freeway screaming at the top of her lungs in her car (p.s. I suck at singing, so it is best when nobody else is in the car).  I am okay with this, its a great tension reliever!  So, despite the fact that I really should be studying for my last final of sophomore year (I have 13 hours left before the test), I am instead creating playlists of the best road trip songs. So far one song that must be on the playlist–and is the reason for the title of this post–is, “California Gurls” by Katy Perry because it is so incredibly appropriate—I am a California girl through and through, and I absolutely love this song because it reminds me of being home in the sunshine.  I also plan on including some songs by Journey, Taio Cruz, OneRepublic, Carrie Underwood, B.o.B., Glee, and Brad Paisley. My gauge of a successful road trip is how hoarse my voice is when I get to my destination.  As always, I would love to get feedback in the comments. What are your favorite ‘car songs’? Is there any one band/song/genre that you have to (or for that matter cannot) listen to when you are driving? Let me know :)

-Meggers

Here are some of my top picks for the drive (quite a few of them are oldies but goodies!):

Secrets by OneRepublic

Dynamite by Taio Cruz

Undo It by Carrie Underwood

Faithfully by Journey

United State of Pop 2009 (Blame it on the Pop) by DJ Earworm

Inconsolable by Backstreet Boys

It’s Amazing by Jem

Speeding Cars by Imogen Heap

Halo/Walking on Sunshine by Glee

Last Train Home by Ryan Star

California Gurls by Katy Perry

Waka Waka by Shakira

O…Saya by A. R. Rahman & M.I.A (from Slumdog Millionaire)

Cowboy Casanova by Carrie Underwood

Callin’ on Baton Rouge by Garth Brooks

3 responses to “Nothing Comes Close to the Golden Coast…

  1. Rosemary

    More photos, more writing, more, more, more!!!!

  2. Welcome back to Tiny Prints!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

