The Weary Traveler

Have you ever been in the scenario of having to travel through multiple airports in a short period of time? The gypsy lifestyle making you forget whether home is a place or just your suitcase? If you readers out there answered yes, I totally feel your pain!

I am currently dealing with that very situation: where is home and why am I stuck re-wearing a small set of clothes??!!. Within the past month I have gone from London to Ireland, and back again. Then I went from London to San Diego. This past week was San Diego to Oregon (via Seattle because airlines are slightly crazy) and now I patiently (yea right!) sit inside Portland airport waiting for my plane back to San Diego. And to top of the never ending feeling of living out of a suitcase and not knowing where I am when I wake up in the middle of the night, I am moving next month. Who knew life as a college student would be so transient!

I don’t know about any of you out there, but this is not a lifestyle choice I would easily jump into. I feel terrible for flight attendants, pilots, and other airline personnel must be so confused as to what the concept of “home” feels like.

This trip to Oregon was a chance to visit with my parents, one of my sisters, and her family. It has been close to a year since I was last home, and almost 4 years since I saw my sister Stephanie or her husband and kids. This brief trip made me realize how much (please excuse the following cliche) “home is where the heart is.” Despite the fact that I did miss “home” I realized that it truly does not matter where you are, but who is there.

I look forward to coming home because of who I get to see and memories that can be shared from the past with those who matter most. Even though I’m sure that I will wake up tonight in a panic wondering how I got back to San Diego, the trip was completely worth it.

So, I ask you out there who have suffered from this “weary traveler” condition, let me know what kinds of things help you stay grounded (pun intended, of course!). Maybe you travel with a stuffed animal or photo of your family. Or maybe, coming home and visiting a certain person or location helps you to feel settled again. Let me know in the comments section, I’d love to hear your stories!

Until next time weary travelers, drink lots of fluids & snuggle up with an itchy airplane blanket while you dream of home…

I'm leavin' on a jet plane...

I’m leavin’ on a jet plane…

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

