The Sicilian Kitchen | Burrito Night

Some of you may recall that a few weeks back I made lasagna and decided that it was time for a new category of blog posts: recipes.  Well since then, I haven’t posted a new recipe (shame on me!) in “The Sicilian Kitchen” category, so I decided that tonight would be the night!

To all my fellow college students out there (or for those of you who are simply in need of a quick and simple dinner), you will appreciate how easy this recipe is, I promise.  Honestly, what is easier than making a burrito?

As you can tell from the photo I was a little too lazy to pull out my actual camera, so instead I used my handy-dandy new iPhone and the Hipstamatic app (oh how I love it!).  If you’d like to know more about the lens/film/flash I used on this particular photo scroll to the bottom of this post.

I don’t think I really need to explain too much about how to make a burrito, but my own personal preference is to lay down a layer of beans and cheese and then add about a bottle’s worth of hot sauce and microwave it for 1-2 minutes before adding on the rest of the ingredients.  If you’d like the true step-by-step, check out the recipe page here.

Personally, this is a favorite go-to of mine because most of the ingredients are cheap and I usually try to keep them on hand.  I probably spent about $6-9 on the items included in my burrito tonight and I will have plenty of leftovers for the next time I’m a little lazy to make a “real” dinner.  To keep the price in perspective (as I know everyone needs to, especially us college kids) I could have gone to Chipotle (a favorite of mine) and gotten 1 burrito for about the same price and I didn’t even have to drive anywhere!

I hope you all were inspired by my totally awesome dinner of champions :)

Let me know if you have a favorite lazy cooking day recipe.

**the image above was taken on an iPhone 4s, using Hipstamatic.  Lens: John S // Film: Kodot XGrizzled // Flash: off

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

